Any Other Name – A Walt Longmire mystery- Review

Currently on Loan from the Library:

Any Other Name by: Craig Johnson

A Deeper Sleep by: Dana Stabenow

Whisper to the Blood by: Dana Stabenow

The Singing of the Dead by: Dana Stabeow

Other Books I’m Reading:

Galatea 2.2 by: Richard Powers

I admit it. I’ve been in a serious book funk lately. Partially because I’ve been rewriting some of my own work, and finding the first draft to be much less perfect than I had hoped. Partially because I spent several lovely rainy days actually out in the rain and not curled up with a good book.

To break the funk, I decided to order every mystery on my to read list from the library. Which worked out well for me because I ended up first on the list for the new Craig Johnson. Score! I’ll get to the massive amounts of Stabenow I’ve been inhaling in the next couple weeks. Today we’re going to talk Longmire.

Any Other Name starts with Lucian Connally dragging Walt Longmire into the investigation of the suicide of Detective Gerald Holman over in Campbell County. Not Walt’s jurisdiction. Not Walt’s problem. However, Lucian feels like he owes it to the widow, who just happens to be one of Lucian’s ex girlfriends. Of course.

Just let me pause here and say, I love Lucian. Of all the characters that have been lost in translation over to the A&E series, which is a very good series, I miss Lucian the most. If I had to deal with them in real life as a criminal, I’d take Lucian over Walt any day. You always know where you stand with Lucian. He reminds me of that old joke where the newlyweds start out on their honeymoon, and the horse pulling the carriage starts giving the new husband trouble. “That’s one,” the husband says to the horse. When the husband gets to “that’s three” he shoots the horse. Naturally the wife starts yelling at him. “That’s one,” the husband tells her. I always expect Lucian to bust out a “that’s one” on somebody.

Not unexpectedly the investigation of what seems to be a straight forward suicide turns into a full blown search for some missing women. In the course of events we are treated to another freezing, bleeding, haunted, snowbound scene. This time there are buffalo, and it’s in South Dakota. Vic is back and just as rip roaring as ever after being stabbed in A Serpents Tooth. I was about to give up hope on Henry, but then he turned up too. About one page before he was needed. There are also slave traffickers, an embezzler, hit men, trains, strippers, and a guy named Thor.

Perhaps the most interesting part of this book is that it sets up the possibility of a recurring antagonist for the next book. And boy is Vic not going to be happy about that.

All in all a fast paced and enjoyable read. Although maybe Walt needs to think about putting the brakes on his collection of haunted/cursed/unlucky items.

Favorite Scene: It’s a toss up between Lucian flags down the waitress, and Lucian deals decisively with a train. Although, some guy takes it right between the eyes with a staple is pretty darn good too.

Favorite Quote: “You’re sure you want that? Because he’s like a gun; once you point him and pull the trigger, it’s too late to change your mind.”

Enjoyability: Five stars 

Where to read this book: This is a take to the beach, lay out in the back yard read. Just use plenty of sunscreen so you don’t get engrossed and burn.

Further reading: Finishing out the Kate Shugak series. Then maybe some Bernard Cornwell. I haven’t read his most recent one yet. Can you believe that? I really have been in a funk.

Posted on May 21, 2014, in books, Fiction, Reading, review, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

