The Perfect Shawl

It’s been snowing here like crazy.  Which has been great.  Living in Virginia for all those years, my kids had barely seen snow.  By comparison DH and I have missed it something fierce.  Snow.  Which of course has the lovely by product of providing me time to knit, and feel all nice and cozy.  So it was clearly time to work on what I’ll be wearing this spring.

DCIM100SPORT

Starting with the last project finished first, I give you this DK weight alpaca shawl.  I have finally made the perfect shawl for all those women who think that they can’t wear shawl because the shawl would always be falling off.  I love this shawl.  It’s soft.  It’s a pretty color.  It will go with much of much of my wardrobe. It generates static electricity like crazy.  I had to peel it off.  I couldn’t have dropped it accidentally if I’d wanted to.  Which is great if like me you are in charge of small children on a regular basis.

Here is the free pattern link:  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kleks     It’s a very nicely written pattern.  The shawl should adjust easily to any weight yarn, given the correct needle size.

Next there is a hat.  I admit it, I’m one of those Downton Abbey people.  While watching the most recent season I decided I wanted to try knitting a cloche style hat.  I look ridiculous in most hats.  I had no reason to suspect this one would be different.  I  happened  to remember this pattern from an old Kitty issue:  http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwbis11/PATTescargot.php   and decided to give it a try.  It came out great!  Also, if you want to

DCIM100SPORT

get many second glances at the local Wal-mart I highly recommend this pattern.  Although I’m not sure if the second glances were a product of the hat pattern, or the colors I chose to work it in.  The world may never know.

Lastly there is the first project I finished.  This is another half-circle shawl, this time worked in cotton.  I enjoyed this pattern as well, but it is not for beginners.  There were a couple of stitches involved that I had to look up.  Which doesn’t happen to me often.  It’s got a nice romantic name too.  Dinner at the Eiffel Tower.  Here is the link to the once free, but now reasonably priced pattern:  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/dinner-in-the-eiffel-tower-shawl   I added the beads in the broken rib portion myself.  I think they came out great.  I can’t wait to wear this.  As soon as the snow melts.

DCIM100SPORTDCIM100SPORT

Posted on March 5, 2013, in around the house, fun, knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

