My (New) Little Corner of the World

Of course part of the fun of moving is losing your sandals for two weeks.  I found them.  In the place I really should have looked in the first place too.  Ahhhhgggg!

As moving inconvenience goes, I think we’ve got most of the paperwork stuff covered.  Also, I can find the church, the coffee shop, the library, and the Walmart.  So I’m good.  And I haven’t been lost once.  I may have finally found a town the right size for me.  Since I spent my first year lost last time we moved.

The library here is beyond charming.  It’s on the lower level of a municipal building.  It’s not huge.  They make up for size by having inter library loan, and a good children’s area.  I’m taking the boys to story time this week.  That should be an adventure.  They also have several book clubs I may have to check out.  However, I think the thing I found most charming was the library delivery service for the homebound.  Now that is knowing your audience.  I mean I won’t be using it.  Still nice to know that if I’m here until I’m 106 I’ll still be able to get my books.  Cause I need my books.

The day we were in to get our library cards, my son B started an discussion between the adorable counter girls about D.C. verses Marvel characters.  I instantly felt right at home.  I’ve never been able to choose myself.  Although the X-men makes me lean Marvel just a little bit.

I checked out some interesting things too.  Agincourt by Bernard Cornwell, which I’ve started twice, and then run out of time and energy.  The library has a good Bernard Cornwell section for a library its size.  Which I totally approve of.  I also got The Other Queen by Phillippa Gregory.  I have to say, I’m mostly interested in this book because it is reportedly about Mary Queen of Scots.  I’ve really gotten interested in Mary lately thanks to a couple Stuff You Missed in History Class podcasts.  I highly recommend them too.  If you never thought history was that interesting, you should check them out.  I think you’ll be proven wrong.  Just by a podcast.  They are all so good, it’s hard for  me to pick a favorite.  But I digress.  Filling out my to read stack this week there is also The Pirate Queen by Susan Ronald, which is a biography of Elizabeth I, and The Palace of Illusions, by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni.  I’m in the middle of The Palace of Illusions.  So far I’m experiencing approving sentiments.  Also, it makes me think I should be more familiar with Hindu mythology.  But more on that later.

I’m not going to lie.  The boxes are still waist high at the townhouse.  I’m not worried.  I’ll get it all sorted.  At least thanks to this move,  there are no more boxes that give you a whiff of Sugar Beet refinery when you open them.  That was Michigan.  Which was about nine years ago now.  Until this move there were still a couple beet refinery boxes.  Sadly.

Hope everyone is having a good week.  Also a shout out to my friend Cindy who is getting ready to move again.  To New Hampshire.  I hope it goes well.  You’re a better woman than me.  Give C a hug.  And know our thoughts and prayers are with you.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in fun, out and about, Reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t envy Cindy another move. Glad you’re able to find your way around. I find it interesting that Danville’s library didn’t have homebound delivery. We have that here and the delivery folks go in and visit with patrons. My 97-yo aunt loves it.

Leave a Reply

