What to do with this yarn??

Back in February a friend gave me some yarn from a friend of hers.  I always love these sorts of bags.  Sometimes there is something really interesting in them, and sometimes there isn’t, but even if I don’t keep the contents of the bag it’s always like a yarn treasure hunt.  Who doesn’t like a treasure hunt?  Most of the bag in question was passed on to someone I know who does charity knitting.  However there was one piece of treasure I kept.  100% Wool.  Lovely, lovely wool.  It is too much for words.  Here is a picture:

Have you ever seen anything more deserving of knitting?  It’s just fantastic!  In an admittedly retro 70’s sort of way.  Now the problem.  I can’t decide what to do with it.  I’m afraid lace would be lost in the color.  Cables too.  I don’t know if I’d ever wear the cowl, mitts, and hat I could make from them.  It’s not enough for an afghan.  Not enough for a sweater.  Too thick for socks.  Although how cool would those be???  I welcome suggestion.

Also, we’re moving to Missouri in three weeks.  So I doubt there will be much reading and reviewing, or knitting for the rest of the month.  I will try.  I’m sure I will need the de-stressing.  There are a couple of things on the needles now.  We will see.  But if I don’t post, it’s not because I’ve gone A.W.O.L.  I’ll be back.  Hopefully early in May. Wish me luck.

Posted on April 5, 2012, in fun, knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Naomi Heselton

    Blessing Ginny! I will look forward to hearing from you in May. I vote for slipper booties for your family. They will keep their feet nice and warm.

  2. I, personally, love socks knit from worsted weight yarn. They work well under clogs, Birkenstocks, Crocs & all by themselves as house socks.

  1. Pingback: “H” is for Hank « Crafty Lady

Leave a Reply

