My Adventures with Kitchen Cotton

I love kitchen cotton.  I just do.  As yarn goes it’s one of the most practical on earth.  It can be machine washed and dried.  It’s colorful and fun.  It wears like iron.  What more could a knitter ask for?  Softness you say? Well, I see your point.

Years ago, I knitted a rectangular shawl out of kitchen cotton.  It got out of control, and is now the lap blanket that the boys fight over when the watch television.  It still looks great.  To spite the fact it has been exposed to various bodily fluids, used as a tent roof, and a tug of war rope.

A couple months ago some one gave me a trove of kitchen cotton.  I’ve been working down my collection ever since.  Fingerless mitts.  A hat.  Some burp clothes.  Then I got a brilliant idea.  I had a ton of white and a tone of a sort of Rainbow Bright ombre.  I decided it was time I had a afghan just for me.  Everybody needs some pop in their life.

This is what I ended up with.

I love it!  And it’s warm.  And the more I wash it, the softer it gets.

Plus, stripes.  Who doesn’t love stripes?

I have to get back to lace now.  A million miles of stocking knit stitch has made me a little lazy.  But at least I’ll be warm while I work.

What do you mean I would have been warm anyway since it is spring already?  Shhhh.  We must not go around pointing out the flaws in my genius plans.  🙂

Posted on March 28, 2012, in fun, knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You know I call it kitchen cotton but some company calls it household cotton and I think that’s a better name. You are the bravest knitter I know to consider a lace project while packing boxes!!! My guess is that lace knitting is to you as a Calgon bath is to others. So lace knitting take Ginny away!

  2. Naomi Heselton

    I love your beautiful colours. The combination looks like Easter! I envy your beautiful projects. The knitted patterns are gorgeous.

    I have a project similar to yours. The instructions call it a ‘prayer shawl’, so of course I love it. I cast on anywhere from 40 – 50 stitches and then knit back and forth until I decide it is done. I can almost do it with my eyes closed. I get orders from my daughter for her friends.

Leave a Reply

