The Throes Thrones

Currently on Loan from the Library:

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin

The Keep  by Jennifer Egan

Sisters of Fortune  by Jehanne Wake

Doc  by Mary Doria Russell


I can see why people love George R. R. Martin.  I truly can.  I even suspect that if I was a slightly different sort of person, I would be finding Martin’s work fascinating.  However, I do not love him, and am not finding him fascinating.  

I read all 835 pages of Game of Thrones.  I also read the first 175  pages of  A Clash of Kings.  I can’t take it anymore.  For me it is like slogging through cold grayish goo.  So I’m calling a halt.   

Also, adults who turn over perfectly good kingdoms to be ruled by thirteen, fourteen, and fifteen year olds are dumber than a box of hair, and crazier than a bag of frogs.  

Enjoyability:  If you are some other person besides me, I understand these are very enjoyable.  

Where to read this book: Somewhere warm.  

Further reading: I’m in the middle of Doc by  Mary Doria Russell.  Partially because I’ve like everything else she’s written, and partially because I’m a sucker for anything to do with  Tombstone.  

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Fiction, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

