The Opposite of an Amber Fan in the Garden.

Currently on Loan from the Library:

Though Not Dead by Dana Stabenow

The Lion by Nelson DeMille

Returned to the Library:

Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult

The Opposite of Fate by Amy Tan

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

The Amber Room by Steve Berry

Other Books I’m Reading:

The Johnstown Flood by David McCullough

I did not end up reading all of Amy Tan’s The Opposite of Fate. Nothing against Amy. I’ve always enjoyed her other work. I think I just wasn’t in the mood this week.

I did however, complete Lisa See’s Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. I actually picked Snow Flower up thinking that I had read it before and was just going to reread it so that I could compare and contrast the book with the new movie coming out. This turned out not to be the book I remember at all. Which leads me to wonder what I was thinking off. Certainly not another Lisa See novel. I would know that. Still, somewhere out there is another novel by an entirely different author, with a totally different plot, about two young women in China who used a women’s language to communicate. I’ve read that one too.

In thinking what to say about this book, I think I can sum it up like this: If you don’t like Lisa See’s writing style, you won’t like this book. If you do like her style, it’s a good read. There are perhaps more heartbreaking foot binding scenes than are strictly necessary. Still, all in all a good solid read.

I did start the Amber Room, but was in the end derailed by a two year old who hasn’t been sleeping, and so returned it to the library. Although I will probably check it out again at some later date. I’m curious what Mr. Berry thinks happened to the famous Amber Room. Also, check out the Stuff you Missed in History Class podcast for a great episode called Who Stole the Amber Room?. One of the best podcasts ever.

When I opened The Forgotten Garden I noticed that the endpapers were covered in fairies. I instantly returned it to the library. Seriously. Blaaahg! Yes I judge books by their covers and endpapers. So sue me.

Enjoyability: Snow Flower gets a three and half out of five. The rest. Well, I didn’t read them, I won’t recommend them to you.

Where to read this book: I would read Snow Flower sitting next to the fire on a wintery night with a good shot of brandy in my tea, if I had that sort of a life. As it was, I read it mostly sitting in my comfy chair, while the children crashed their toy cars together.

Further reading: I always read Lisa See books. I probably always will read Lisa See books. But frankly, I’m not on the edge of my seat waiting for her next one to come out, and I never have been.

Next week, Mayhem!!!! At last. At least I hope. Things are looking promising.

Posted on April 12, 2011, in Fiction, fun, review. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Is the mystery book ‘Women of the Silk’ by Gail Tsukiyama?

Leave a Reply

